I dream of knitted tutus

Do you ever dream of knitting?? I do, in fact, my dreams are where I get my best ideas! This latest project ( and bucket list item #31 ) is a knitted tutu, designed by yours truly and was featured in one of my dreams about a year ago. Every now and then my brain reminds me of this dream and nags at me to get working on it. I always had a reason not to until last week I finally I gave in and knit away to create what you see below.

A Smashlee Stitches Original the knitted tutu,
A Smashlee Stitches Original The Knitted Tutu

I will be offering these tutu’s for sale on my Etsy shop  and Facebook page in the near future. They will be in a variety of fun colours and in sizes ranging from newborn to 3 years.

I will also be offering the pattern for any knitters who want to try a fun project using ruffle yarn. First however, I need 5-10 knitters willing to test knit this pattern for me.

TEST KNITTERS WANTED

Required skills will be:

  • knowing how to knit in the round using ciricular needles.
  • familiar with ruffle yarn and how to knit with it
  •  must know how to knit ,purl , purl two together and yarn over.

Supplies needed:

  •  size 6 4mm  24 inch circular needles
  • 1-2 balls of ruffle yarn (any colour or brand)
  • Worsted weight yarn in a complimentary colour for waist band

For the waist band tie either

a) a contrasting ribbion

or

b) a 5mm I crochet hook and  small ball of worsted weight yarn in contasting colour

Test knitting will involve checking for errors in grammar, spelling and inaccuracies or confusion in wording and instructions.

Test knitting will begin sometime next week ( April 28th- May 4 2013) and need to be completed by May 12th.

If you would like to volunteer as a test knitter  please e-mail me at smashleestitches@gmail.com and include your name, email address, and preference in which size you would like to test.

  • Newborn
  • 0-6 months
  • 6-12 months
  • 1-2 years
  •  2- 3 years.

Please also let me know if you have a model available to try the finished tutu on. Models are not required to test knit but, are preferred.

I will not require the tutu send to me, only pictures and measurements. You will also receive a final version of the pattern before it goes out for sale on Raverly and Etsy, as a thank you for testing.

5 thoughts on “I dream of knitted tutus

  1. Pingback: The Knitting Bucket List Revised | smashleestitches

Leave a comment