Longest ever work in progress…

So after 3 years ,almost to the date,  I completed  my longest ever UFO (unfinished object) , my mini-smashlee’s baby blanket. For those who don’t know, she’s over 2 1/2 now. I started this project when I found out I was having a baby girl and vowed to finish it before I gave birth. Obviously, I didn’t and It has been sitting in a size 1 huggies jumbo diaper box for the good part of 2 years.

I don’t know why it took me this long to complete it but, this afternoon it was finally declared  done. I have to say though, I really thought I would feel different. I don’t know what exactly I thought would happen… maybe a few fireworks, or a parade, I mean this blanket took forever to finish, but, all I feel is exactly the same as I did as when it was sitting in the box.  I don’t feel super fulfilled it’s finished, in fact, as of right this moment, I don’t really want to see it again …ever…    BUT, it is my mini’s blanket and she’s quite happy it’s done.

While I was weaving in the ends (I hate weaving in ends) she laid down on it and said “MOM! Picture.” and then pretended to sleep.

Mini- Smashlee wanted to take the blanket for one last test sleep before it is forever in her possession.
Mini- Smashlee wanted to take the blanket for one last test sleep before it is forever in her possession.

So, as you can see, Mini-Smashlee loves it, and that’s what really matters. It doesn’t matter  to a two year old if my crochet border is uneven or if it’s not perfectly sewn to together. She thinks it rocks.

The alphabet baby blanket part one..
The alphabet baby blanket part one..
and part two…

Maybe  in a few days, it will hit me that it is finished and  I’ll learn to like the blanket . But, even if I  never love it the way my mini does, I do know one thing for sure…. Item number 1 on the Smashlee Stitches Bucket List is done!!

I have made the bucket list in it’s entirely available on my website but you can also, check it my past blog posts on the subject .

Now, it’s on to my next abandoned knitting project…felted hot pink slippers.

 

2 thoughts on “Longest ever work in progress…

  1. Pingback: The Knitting Bucket List Revised | smashleestitches

Leave a Reply

