I Really Really Like Knitting

If you’ve been following me on my Facebook or Instagram you will have already seen my exciting news.

Last year, I set a goal for myself to get 100 knitting pattern design rejections and I have not forgot about that goal! I’m very happy to say the third design I submitted was accepted! Yay!

Since, then I have kept submitting designs and my current count is  5 rejections & 4 acceptances.

That’s means later this year there will be more Smashlee Stitches designs coming out! Double Yay!

In case you haven’t seen here is my latest design. The Life of the Party Scarf which is available in the April issue of I Like Knitting magazine.

ILK_april_small-5

It is part of the Yarn Cakes collection and I was inspired by all things spring. This winter has a lot snow and I swear designing and knitting this scarf got me through blizzards, snow piles taller than me and endless shovelling!

ILK_april_small-69.jpg

This party scarf features an elegant diagonal stitch that is accompanied with a simple i-cord edging. Its stunning purple, green and yellow hues will remind you of flowers, green grass and sunshine. This simple, yet interesting, pattern is worked back and forth on straight needles and makes a wonderful stash buster.

It uses 1 ball of Caron Cakes which can be found at your local Michaels store.

Obviously, my design was not the only thing featured in this issue so let me show you some of my favourites.

ILK_april_small-127.jpg

The Lacy Lime Socks by Tian Connaughton

ILK_april_small-84

The Peter Rabbit Pillow + Blanket set by Vikki Bird

ILK_april_small-79.jpg

The Cupcake Party Afghan by Rosann Fleischauer

ILK_april_small-12.jpg

The Sunday Brunch Dress by Rosann Fleischauer

ILK_april_small-74.jpg

The Diamond Shawl By Amy Gunderson

 

You can get ILK-april-2017-small-225x300.jpgyour copy of the April issue here.  Along with digital subscription (both tablet and computer) you also get access to back issues and a bunch of amazing patterns!

 

And if you are making a Life of the Party Scarf don’t forget to add your project pics on Ravelry! I would love to see them!

Happy Knitting!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “I Really Really Like Knitting

  1. First off, congratulations on your pattern publication! I’ve been looking for some spring knits to share with my knitting students and will add your Life of the Party scarf to my list. Your goal of 100 rejections is just what I suggested to my daughter, a young actress, for her first year after graduation. If you’re working to get 100 rejections, you “just” need to keep putting yourself out there. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

