What Rejection Feels Like….

Yup, you read that right. Rejection. I got my first “sorry, your pattern is not for our magazine” e-mail last week.  It was the first pattern I ever submitted to a magazine.

So, what does it feel like to get that e-mail? Well, I think its best to first  talk about what it doesn’t feel like.

It doesn’t feel like I want to quit knitting. It doesn’t feel like I want quit designing. I didn’t cry my eyes out, in fact I didn’t even get a sniffle. ( I cry a lot so this is a big deal.) I didn’t get mad or angry. To be honest, I read the e-mail, felt nothing and went on with my day.

Denial? No, I don’t think so. I was prepared for rejection and of course I would have loved if they accepted it. It would have made a cool blog post about how my first design I ever submitted was accepted. However, this was not what the universe had in store for me.

If I’m really honest, I kinda wanted it to get rejected. As I was designing and knitting the sample, I kept picturing this sample being part of bigger collection.  I could see like 4-5 items that would cooridnate well with it.  Basically, I  kinda wanted to keep the design for myself so I could do more with it. Before, I even submitted the proposal, I had a back up plan for IF it got rejected. Maybe, that’s why I felt nothing and the whole thing really wasn’t that scary.

So, that’s the plan folks. Coming early next year or maybe around christmas time… there will be the first ever Smashlee Stitches pattern collection. Its bright, its colourful and its full of LOVE.

IMG_1128

Betcha wondering what the design was I submitted was…To be honest, I don’t know how much i’m allowed to reveal about it. As a newbie, I’m not sure what the protocol is about rejected designs.  Are they mine to share and do with whatever I please?  If other designers could clarify this for me,I would be so grateful! Please comment if you have any insight on this!

As, far as the my goal for 100 rejected designs goes.. well 1 done. 99 more to go!

Happy Knitting and designing!

Smashlee

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Rejection Feels Like….

  1. Don’t feel bad. Sometimes the pattern is rejected, because it’s not the right fit for that magazine, and sometimes it’s rejected because it’s not the right feel for that specific issue. Often times- the company does not specific WHICH it is. Keep submitting. You can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

