Knittin’ Little Summer 2016 Collection – Review

Its review time!!! A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to get a copy of  Knittin’ Little Summer 2016 Pattern collection. I had randomly come across the website while browsing twitter one day and I am so glad our virtual paths crossed.

If you’ve never heard of Knittin’ Little I strongly urge you check out their website. It is so cheerful! They specialize in patterns for your littles ( aka kids) and I’m not going to lie, I was hooked at first glance. There is so many adorable patterns that range from newborn to child sizes. Something that really caught my eye was that there is such a good mixture of patterns for boys and for girls. As I am a mom of two littles (or as I like to call them, the mini-me and the mini-he) I can appreciate the options that Knittin’ Little brings.

The summer collection  has 7 stunning and unique patterns . They feature some great talent from designers like Rachel Borello Carroll, Kristen TenDyke, and Knittin’ Little’s editor Andrea Sanchez, just to name a few.

The patterns feature a variety of yarns perfect for summer knitting. You can expect to see  cotton, fingering weight and sport yarn choices.

KLsummer-152.jpg
Costal Local Hat

The first pattern that stood out from the collection for me was the Costal Local Hat By Rachel Borello Carroll. Using Cascade 220 Fingering yarn this hat is sized from newborn to child.  I love this pattern so much I think the mini- he will be sporting this very soon!

 

KLsummer_095.jpg
Summer Showers Romper

The Summer Showers Romper designed by Andrea Sanchez is equally adorable. This pattern has sizes from 0-18 months and uses The Fiber Seed Sprout and Sprout Seedlings yarn.   Since I’m done having littles.. I can’t help but think, that this make the best baby gift.

 

KLsummer_143.jpg
Little Sweet Pea

Little Sweet Pea by  Jessica Anderson would also make a wonderful heirloom baby gift. Using Oink! Pigments Helix yarn, this blanket  is quite stunning . To be honest though, I probably would end up knitting it and keeping it as a shawl for myself.

 

KLsummer_044.jpg
Horizon Pullover

The Horizon Pullover by Nadya Stallings uses Spud and Chloe Fine yarn and knits up in sizes 2-12. I can picture my mini-he wearing this and looking beyond cute. And he’s way over due for some hand knit wear.

 

 

rsz_klsummer_127.jpg
Currituck

Currituck is a sweater vest that is knit with Knit Picks Sport. Designed by Joan Beebe this would be the perfect additional to that summer semi-formal outfit. Think of how cute it would be to have your little rock this vest at a wedding. The pattern is available in sizes 6m to size 14.

 

KLsummer_078.jpg
The Summer Sunset

The Summer Sunset by Helen Rose is knit in Destination Yarn Letter Fingering Weight yarn. Its available in sizes from 0-3 months to 10 years.  This beautiful tank top has a some cute buttons and lace pattern that would make it such a fun knit.

 

KLsummer_031.jpg
Little Joy Dress

The Little Joy Dress is probably my favourite pattern. Designed by Kristen TenDyke and knit in Knit Picks Simply Cotton Sport.  The pattern is written for sizes 6m to size 12. My Mini-Me is really into dresses right now and this is exactly something she would wear. I can’t help but feel the need to cast this one on first. I can even see the dress carrying on into the fall season, just pair with some leggings and a cute sweater.

I will be knitting up some of these patterns in the next month or so and of course, I will be blogging about my progress. First up, will be the Little Joy dress for my mini- me and then the horizon pullover for the mini-he.  They will be so cute , I cannot wait to get started. First thought, I must go yarn shopping!

I would like to Andrea from Knittin’ Little for allowing me to do this review and preview the patterns. Don’t forget to check out the Knittin’ Little website. All the patterns mentioned above can be found here and also on Ravelry.

Happy Knitting!!

Smashlee

 

Leave a Reply

