100 Rejection letters here I come!!!

Last week I wrote about how I was going to be brave and start a 100 rejection email challenge. I love designing but, its scary putting your self out there to essentially be judged by magazine and book editors.

I’m still feeling rather brave so, after I wrote last Wednesday’s blog post , I went on Ravelry and searched the forums and groups for call for  submission posts.

Didn’t take me long to find one, and after briefly reading it. I printed it out and told Mr. Smashlee the plan. After throwing some ideas around we came up with a pretty cool design. I sketched it out and opened up an excel spreadsheet to start on the pattern.

There’s one tiny tiny problem though,  the magazine I’m submitting to doesn’t have yarn support. Meaning  I supply my own yarn. This is good and bad. Good because I get more freedom in the design, since I get to choose the yarn. Bad because, my design is colourful and I don’t have much of yarn stash (by choice). I live in tiny town with no LYS, and there’s not a enough time before the submission deadline to order anything online. This means I have to convince Mr. Smashlee that we need to go on a road trip (4 hours driving round trip ) to get yarn, for a design I may or may not get to publish.

Well guess what? mr. Smashlee deserves a shout out here. Cause I got my yarn yesterday.


Now, I’m knitting away on my gauge swatch. I’m still really excited about this project and can’t wait to finish the swatch.

Only time will tell what the outcome of this all will be but, I do have a back up plan for if the design gets rejected.  And as of right now, Im okay with the possibility of rejection. I suppose that should change though.

Until next week, keep being brave & Thanks for reading!!

Smashlee

2 thoughts on “100 Rejection letters here I come!!!

  1. Pingback: What Rejection Feels Like…. | Smashlee Stitches

  2. Pingback: I Really Really Like Knitting – Smashlee Stitches

Leave a Reply

