Pattern Writing 101

Recently, I completed a design course called “pattern writing 101” from KnitDesigns by Tian.

As many of you already know I’ve designed and sell a few pattern on Ravelry and my etsy shop. For the most part, I was winging it. I studied how other designers wrote their patterns and essentially taught myself how to pattern write. I understand the math, of knitting and  I can look at a garment are figure out how it was  made/knit. This was all I needed, right??

Nope! Tian’s course really gets down to the nitty gritty of pattern writing . Besides the fine tune details, you really get to look in yourself and figure out who you are as a designer. What do you want to achieve?  How far do you want to go?

The best part of course though is the feeling you get when you e-mail back and forth with Tian. It’s almost like she’s there holding your hand though the scary bits and will be your biggest cheerleader.

At the end of the course you will have written a full written pattern, that you have designed yourself! Yay you!!

 

Mine is ready to go and waiting on photography ( and for me to get back from holidays).  I am so excited to release this pattern so, look for coming very very soon!


If you want to dabble in design wether part or full time I strongly suggest her course(s), because more than knowledge of the in and outs of design, I gained the confidence to call myself a designer, take risks and grow out of my knitting comfort zone.  Thank you Tian!
You can find Tian on her website  , twitter and Ravelry .

Thanks for reading! And as Tian always says, You got this!!!

Smashlee

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Pattern Writing 101

  1. Pingback: Smashlee Stitches Patterns | Smashlee Stitches

Leave a Reply

