Ernie Sweaters

We all love Ernie. His big orange face, his fuzzy black hair, his rubber Duckie and of course, his stripped sweater. There’s something about those stripes that brings a smile to face and remember my childhood.

IMG_2498

I never really considered that his sweater was knit until I saw a pattern for an Ernie sweater in the book, Son of a Stitch and Bitch by Debbie Stroller . It features an adult sized sweater and is knit with yarn that is the perfect shades of bight blue, red, yellow and white. The raglan sweater is knit in pieces and seamed together.

A smashlee stitches Halloween

I’ve made ALOT of ernie sweaters but, i’ve only ever knit one from Debbie’s pattern. Simply because, up until very recently I hated seaming. Everything I knit, including sweaters was seamless.

10561657_704347442991254_5032061413192425186_n

When I started offering custom made ernie sweaters in my etsy shop, I would knit each one using the techniques in the book The Sweater Workshop by Jacqueline Fee .  I used a basic raglan sweater design and mimicked the stripe sequence on the original sweater. Because Jacqueline’s book is so diverse, she teaches you how to size any sweater. This enabled me to make everything from baby to adult sweaters.

1970880_702548209837844_1372015736218027819_n

These sweaters went to customers around the world including  Canada, the US & Germany.  My favourite one being a custom sweater that got sent to Brooklyn, New York. This was a Christmas present for the daughter of a lady who worked on the Sesame Street set. I was truly blessed to get make so many of these sweaters!

18988_486200388139295_1430897767_n

The last Ernie sweater I knit was about a two years go… but, I’m starting to get the itch to make more… This time I might attempt the seamed sweater again. Just to mix it up.

And who knows maybe if I can master vertical stripes, knock our a few Bert sweaters too.

I better get to work….

Smashlee

P.S. This post was brought to by the letters K & P and the number 2.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

