October: The month of celebrations and goodbyes.

October has been a bittersweet month for me.  Both my mini’s birthdays are in the beginning of October. We spoiled them with presents, cake and a pool party. I know, every parent says this but, I can’t believe how fast they are growing up.

ak_16
On October 15, we said goodbye to my beloved Grandpa. It was (is) really tough. He was an inspirational, kind, and loving man, who supported me in everything I did. 22142_231669064661_7577147_n

He had a definite appreciation for handmade items.  He was amazing at needlepoint work and latch hooking.

I have a few of his pieces hanging around my home, my favorite being a teddy pair picture that was made for me when I was born. it proudly hangs on wall in the mini-me’s room.

When I started to knit and then started to sell my items on Facebook , he very proudly took my business card and stuck it in his wallet. We chatted a lot about my knitting business. I don’t know if he ever read my blog, but, I know he was proud of what I am trying to with Smashlee Stitches.
He will be very very missed.

I did get to see a lot of extended family this last month, including my mom and was able to hand deliver a lot of gifts instead of mailing them.

My mom finally got her sweater however, I never did get a picture of her wearing it. It fits and she loved it. I also got to deliver hand knit items to my cousins which, included a beard hat and a some baby items. Like I said, the whole thing was very bitter sweet.

Things are slowly getting back to “normal” and I am feeling alot better then I was a week ago. It still isn’t easy though, Knitting helps. Its great therapy.

Leave a Reply

