When I grow up I want to be a designer…of knitting patterns….

I’ve been feeling the craving to design some new patterns lately. And by lately I mean, the whole last year, I’ve been racking my brain trying to come up with something.

The problem is I never had any inspiration. all my other patterns came to me rather effortlessly. I just bring out some yarn to play around with and next thing you know I have knit a tutu, or a slouch hat, or some boot cuffs.

Well, the inspiration has been gone for a while. And the more I try to come up with something the harder it became.  However, the past few months I decided To just let it all go. I gave up to trying figure it out.

Then, of course,  it happened, I became inspired…last night while I was going through my stash I found the next design project.

It uses one my favorite yarns (sirdar crofter chunky ) and this yarn has a wonder fair isle colorway to it. Because this yarn is busier, the pattern I’m designing  will be simple. Actually, really simple. Its not a ground breaking design at all, but, I’m okay with that. It’s more about showing off the yarn then the design. And I’ve I’m going to using its simple design to my advantage.


My master plan, is to knit a few boot cuffs and fine tune the sizing and pattern. Once, its ready I will put out a call for test knitters . Then after the pattern has been checked for errors I will publishing it as a free pattern .  It will be available on my blog, on my website and as free pdf download on ravelry. Then soon after that is all done, I will be releasing a Youtube version as well. This is where I will demonstrate knitting the pattern and make it a sort of boot cuff tutorial. It will be great for beginner knitters and those who prefer visual instructions.

The best part of all of this, once my sample pairs are knit they will be going up for sale on my Etsy shop, after I keep a pair for myself, that is.

Overall, I’m feeling like I’m back in the groove and ready to design some new patterns!

 What I’m listening to

Speaking of design, I’ve been listening to Steve jobs biography (on my iPhone haha).  And I find his story is very inspiring. Wether you love or hate apple, his work ethic and determination is something to be admired. I’m not gonna lie, the book make him sounds like a bit of a jerk. But, depsite his short comings, He was able to come full circle and was able to help create the very device I’m holding in my hands. The moral of the story is never give up!

Anyway, It’s finally that time of my day where the mini’s are sleeping and I can to put one of my many  audio books on and grab my needles! I’ve got some knitting to do.

Thanks so much for reading!

Smashlee

2 thoughts on “When I grow up I want to be a designer…of knitting patterns….

Leave a Reply

