When in doubt…Remember why you started…

I can be really a really focused and goal orientated person. I can be a self-starter and I love learning new things, Especially about knitting. Every once and while though, I get in a slump. I start to doubt my goals and my ability to achieve them. I start thinking ” Why am I even doing this?” ” Why on earth would I blog about knitting ?” ” who makes a bucket list about knitting,?? I must be crazy”. Then it tail spins and ,I start focusing on what I haven’t done, instead of what I have accomplished. I’ve come a long way from where I started but, I tend to forget that sometimes.

Logically,I know this type of thinking is pointless and it seems to happen when i’m hungry or tired. so after I get some sleep and food and then take a deep breath , I really start to remember why I even started in this first place. I love knitting so much, that I want to shout it from the roof tops. Since, nobody does that anymore , I’ll just blog about it instead. If I could knit all day, I would. There is something so fulfilling to me to see something I created being worn and loved. I feel like knitting is that thing I can do whenever, and  stitch by stitch I can make something actually useful. and hopefully beautiful.

I didn’t seek out knitting, it found me and boy, am I ever glad it did.

“…knitters just can’t watch TV without doing something else. Knitters just can’t wait in line, knitters just can’t sit waiting at the doctor’s office. Knitters need knitting to add a layer of interest in other, less constructive ways.”
― Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

My audio book of choice

I love to read but, it can prove difficult to knit and read at the same time. It’s really annoying to have to put down my needles just to turn a page. This is why I love audiobooks. I thought I would start sharing what i’m listening to, as I ten to read a ton of self development books.


Right now, I’m listening to “Think and Grow Rich” by Napoleon Hill. This is an old old book. I think from the 1930s. It’s basically about how you can achieve anything you want, if you are in the right mind set. It talks a lot about how to achieve your goals step by step, and essentially create the life you’ve always wanted. I’ve listened to this book 5 or 6 times. Its one of my absolute favorites. It inspires me every time i listen to it to keep on moving forward with my dreams.

What’s on my needles


The baby blanket is still on my needles. In the past two weeks I’ve gotten only 1.5 squares knit up. Which means my total squares completed in up to 5.5 out of 12. My goal this week is  to have 4 squares completed by this Friday. That would mean next week I would have 3 left , 1 day for sewing and 1 day for the boarder, which potentially means this baby blanket could be done by next friday! Exciting!!

The knitting bucket list

Yesterday I talked about how i was going to be really focusing on my going through my stash and giving every ball of yarn an assignment. Today, that process was officially started. I grabbed two balls of yarn, sat down at computer and went to work. With Ravelry opened on my computer, I searched for the ball of yarn in my stash ( i previously added every ball of yarn I own to Ravelry). Then I searched for a pattern that used the yarn I chose. Once, I picked a pattern ( 45 mins later) I filled out an index card with the project name, the purpose of the project ie. etsy, designing, customer order, what the pattern is called, its due date and yarn name.


This info was also added in to Ravelry , I then queued the pattern, so once this whole process is all done, I can just look at my Ravelry Queue and I will know what project comes next, go to my yarn tub, find the matching bag of yarn and then I’m on my way. I\m thinking this could actually work and finally get my stash all knit up!

Thanks so much for reading and following me on my knitting journey!

Please feel free to comment and let me know what’s on your needles, what your reading or just to say hi! I love reading everyone’s comments!

Smashlee

One thought on “When in doubt…Remember why you started…

  1. Good luck with assigning every ball. I can’t do that. Unless I can assign a few balls to be my mascots. They don’t want to do anything besides sit around, look pretty, and be petted. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

