Knitting for Good – project #1 Herringbone Ribbed Scarf

Today, I started knitting a scarf. This isn’t just any scarf. It’s the scarf from chapter one of Knitting for good by Betsy Greer.

This pattern is called li’s reversible herringbone rib scarf and it is designed by Li Boresen.

The pattern calls for 2 balls of Manos del Uruguay Wool Clasica. I easily found it online and ordered 2 skeins of Juniper, a beautiful blue colour.

When I opened the package I was pleasently surprised.

First off, I love the blue! Second, I didn’t realize it was handspun wool. I’ve never worked with handspun before so, I consider this a treat. When I looked at the label, I realized this is not your typical wool. What makes it special is where it comes from and how it’s made.

This is an exert from the yarn label:
“manos Del Uruguay , the hands of Uruguay, is a non profit organization which assembles over 400 artisans in cooperatives scattered throughout the countryside of Uruguay. The aim of the organization is to bring economic and social opportunities to rural women. “

This a great cause and to know this yarn was handspun by craftswomen in Uruguay melts my heart. They are a part of the World Fair Trade Organization and I love the fact they are helping to provide an income to these rural crafters. I definitely will be buying more of his yarn in the future.

Obviously, as I just a started the scarf, I don’t have much to show for it. I did however, make a gauge swatch. I also hand washed the swatch and blocked it.

my swatch prior to blocking

The pattern is simple but, interesting and I love that this scarf is reversible. I’m excited to see the finished product.

Next week, I’m hoping to show you all a finished scarf and share my thoughts on chapter two of Knitting For Good.

thanks for reading!

Smashlee

One thought on “Knitting for Good – project #1 Herringbone Ribbed Scarf

  1. Pingback: The blue scarf  | Smashlee Stitches

Leave a Reply

