Working on the yarn stash 

When I first started the Smashlee stitches blog and the knitting bucket list in 2012, the one goal I wanted to achieve, more than anything , was that I no longer wanted a yarn stash.

I sum up my reasons for this is in one my very first posts but, here is A quick summary.

1. Waste not, want not.

2. I have toddlers.

3. My house is kinda small.

4. I want to buy yarn without feeling guilty.

I intially, had set a deadline for this bucket list item that was September 20, 2014.

I didn’t meet that deadline but, I came really close. My yarn stash has drastically reduced in size.

 The picture below is 3/4 of my stash. Today I starting sorting, organizing and adding it all to ravelry. 

 

After dumping it all out on the floor, I started sorting by weight and brand. 

The clear plastic tub, is now designated for all the yarn I have very tiny amounts of. It all will be rolled in to balls and used to make flowers and such.

The rest of the yarn is full (or nearly full ) skeins.

These will be added to Ravelry. (See yesterday’s post to see a step by step guide to Ravelry stashing.)

I set a time of 25 minutes to sort, organize and stash. Once I got the organizing and sorting done I had 10 minutes to spare. I stashed my cascade 220 superwash yarn.  

 

I also spent some time deleting yarns from Ravelry that I used up. 

Because my stash is not that big I’m hoping I have it all organized by next week. As for a new deadline to become stash-free I’m going to say January 1,2016.

I see the light at the end of the tunnel… This bucket list item is on its way to being completed.

Thank you for reading and please feel free to comment your thoughts on stash-free living.

Smashlee 

2 thoughts on “Working on the yarn stash 

  1. Pingback: Smashlee Stitches

  2. Pingback: 31 Days to Organized Knitting | Smashlee Stitches

Leave a Reply

