3 books that show you how to use social media to further your business 

Can you read a book and knit? I can’t. I really hate that books have pages, because I have turn  those pages and In order to turn those pages I have to stop knitting. Don’t get me wrong I love reading but, my love of knitting is more, so when given the choice, I knit.

For a long time I felt I really did have to choose. The year I started knitting I barely read at all. I did watch a lot of tv though, because well, TV doesn’t have pages to turn. It’s also easy to watch tv and knit. I learned really fast how to knit without looking but, eventually I realized that I wasn’t really even watching tv, I was listening to tv. And the stuff I was listening to was just annoying.

The thing about TV shows and  movies is that I’ve never really liked them anyway. I always felt like I could or should be doing something better with my time. Ultimately, what I really wanted was  wanted to learn stuff while I knit and not just be entertained.

That’s when I got into self development audiobooks. I stream my audiobooks through two different services. I use both the audiobooks.com and audible.com . They both have apps for most smartphone so it’s really convenient to listen to them.

I get 4 credits a month, 2 from each service, and that means I can get 4 audiobooks every 30 days.

It sounds like a lot but currently I listen to about 9 hours a day of audio.

 That doesn’t mean I always knit 9 hours a day ( I wish!!)  Its only about 4 to 5 hours a day. The other half is spent “attempting” to clean my house. 

So what exactly am I listening to all day long? I said above it’s self development but, a lot of what I’m listening too talks about taking chances, following your passion and learning how to do social media properly.

I know this may sound incredibly boring but, just stay with me on this.

I am firm believer that self development does wonders for a persons life. Obviously the more you read (or listen to) the more it makes an impact on your life. I’m not suggesting that you go crazy like me and listen 9 hours a day but, if your a even 15 mins a day can start to change your life.

Since I’m such an audiobook and self development fan I thought I’d list my top 3 books on that taught me how to use using social media for my knitting business. Between Facebook, Twitter, blogging, and websites it can become confusing.  So, In no particular order here are my top three social media books.

  

1.CRUSH IT! By Gary Vaynerchuk.

  

This book is about a very energetic guy who took his love of wine and made a business out of it.

He’s talks about how to use videos to get his name out there, and connect with his audience. He also teaches you all about following your passion and making money off of it. At first I wasn’t sure how to take this book but after an hour of listening I was hooked and by  the end I was transformed.

Check out his website at https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com

 Edit 

2. Platform by Michael Hyatt

  

This guy is amazing! He talks about how to use blogging, websites, newsletters, Facebook and Twitter. He shows you how to sort through all the noise of our crazy world  and focus on what you need to do to make your business stand out from all the rest.

His website: http://michaelhyatt.com/platform

3. The zen of social media marketing. By Shama Kabani

  

This book  convinced me to take the plunge and but my knitting out there on the Internet.

It explains daily, weekly and monthly tasks you can do for Facebook, Twitter, Google + and linked in. I was so lost when I had the idea of Smashlee stitches but, This book helped me step by step along the way.

Her website is: http://shamahyder.com

If you want to make an impression online these books will point you in the right direction. Ultimately, whatever you do has to be consistent. The more you put yourself out there the more you will achieve.

What are your favorite social media books? Comment below and let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Smashlee 

Leave a Reply

